Confidential Print menu
Max Invalid PIN
Limit the number of times an invalid PIN can be entered.
- This menu appears only when a formatted, non-defective printer hard disk is installed.
- Once the limit is reached, the print jobs for that user name and PIN are deleted.
Confidential Job Expiration
Limit the amount of time a confidential print job stays in the printer before it is deleted.
- If the “Confidential Job Expiration” setting is changed while confidential print jobs reside in the printer RAM or printer hard disk, then the expiration time for those print jobs does not change to the new default value.
- If the printer is turned off, then all confidential jobs held in the printer RAM are deleted.
Repeat Job Expiration
Set a time limit on how long the printer stores print jobs.
Verify Job Expiration
Set a time limit on how long the printer stores print jobs needing verification.
Reserve Job Expiration
Set a time limit on how long the printer stores print jobs for printing at a later time.
Erase Temporary Data Files menu
Erase Temporary Data Files deletes only print job data on the printer hard disk that are not currently in use by the file system. All permanent data on the printer hard disk are preserved, such as downloaded fonts, macros, and held jobs.
|Note: This menu appears only when a formatted, working printer hard disk is installed.|
Specify the mode for erasing temporary data files.
Mark all disk space used by a previous print job. This method does not permit the file system to reuse this space until it has been cleared.
- “Single pass” is the factory default setting.
- Only automatic wiping enables users to erase temporary data files without having to turn off the printer for an extended amount of time.
- Highly confidential information should be erased using only the Multiple pass method.
Security Audit Log menu
Let an authorized user export the audit log.
- To export the audit log from the printer control panel, a flash drive must be attached to the printer.
- The audit log can be downloaded from the Embedded Web Server and saved on a computer.
Specify whether or not audit logs are deleted.
Note: Yes is the factory default setting.
Enable Remote Syslog
Remote Syslog Facility
Severity of events to log
Specify how and whether or not audit logs are created.
- Enable Audit determines if events are recorded in the secure audit log and remote syslog. No is the factory default setting.
- Enable Remote Syslog determines if logs are sent to a remote server. No is the factory default setting.
- Remote Syslog Facility determines the value used to send logs to the remote syslog server. 4 is the factory default setting.
- If the security audit log is activated, then the severity value of each event is recorded. 4 is the factory default setting.
Set Date and Time menu
Current Date and Time
Show the current date and time settings for the printer.
Manually Set Date and Time
Enter the date and time.
- Manually setting the date and time sets Enable NTP to No.
- The wizard lets you set the date and time in YYYY-MM-DD-HH:MM format.
[list of time zones]
Select the time zone.
Note: GMT is the factory default setting.
Automatically observe DST
Set the printer to use the applicable daylight saving time (DST) start and end times associated with the printer Time Zone setting.
Note: On is the factory default setting.
Enable Network Time Protocol, which synchronizes the clocks of devices on a network.
- On is the factory default setting.
- The setting is turned off if you manually set the date and time.